# Swim England East Region Special General Meeting 22<sup>nd</sup> April 2021

#### Agenda Item 2.4

### **Elections and Appointments**

## 1. President for 2021/22

Paul Kendall was appointed elected as President Elect by the Management Board in December 2019. The post had been advertised prior to the 2019 ACM, but no nominations had been received. Due to the Pandemic, and the change of timing for the Annual Meeting, it was decided to delay the change of President until April 2021.

It is therefore recommended that Paul Kendall of Dereham and District SC, be appointed as President from 22<sup>nd</sup> April 2021 until the AGM in April 2022.

# 2. President Elect for 2021/22

The nominations for President Elect have been managed by a Nominations Committee. The post of President Elect was advertised on the region's website, with a closing date of 15<sup>th</sup> March 2021.

The Nominations Committee is pleased to recommend the appointment of Helen Stephens of Colchester SC, as President Elect from 22<sup>nd</sup> April 2021 until the AGM in April 2022, when Helen will become the President.

### 3. Regional Operations Committee

The nominations for the ROC Committee have been managed by Nominations Committees. The Regional Operations Committee (ROC) is a new committee that comes into being after the SGM, and replaces the former Management Board. It comprises the four Directors, three Member Nominated Committee Members and three Independent Members.

The nominations were taken in two phases, with the three Member Nominated Committee Member roles advertised first, via county associations. As five nominations were received for the three posts, on line elections were held, with all Members Forum Members taking part in the election.

The Nominations Committee then advertised for nominations for the three Independent Member roles. Three nominations were received, all candidates were considered to be suitable, and are therefore recommended for appointment.

Although the term of office for all elected roles is three years, In order to achieve a gradual turnover of committee members, the initial appointments will be for one, two or three years. This has been decided by number of votes, or by drawing lots, within each category.

The Members Forum is asked to approve the following appointments to the Regional Operations Committee:

Geraldine Metcalf Ian Cotton Sheila Mackenzie Stewart Murray Tom Baster Lottie Thompson Role Member Nominated Member Nominated Member Nominated Independent Independent Independent **Term of Office** 

3 years, until April 2024 2 years, until April 2023 1 year, until April 2022 3 years, until April 2024 2 years, until April 2023 1 year, until April 2022

#### 4. Members of the Audit Risk and Probity Committee

. The appointment of the Audit, Risk and Probity Committee I the responsibility of the Board of Directors. The SGM is asked to note the appointment of the following members of the Audit, Risk and

Probity Committee, all of whom responded to a call for nominations advertised on the region's website:

Simon Lever (Chairman)

- . Simon Rose
- Matthew Rowe
- Lottie Thompson
- And to also note that David Metcalf has been appointed as the Director representative to this Committee.

# 5. Members of the Swim England Members Forum

At the ACM in September 2020 the meeting approved the appointment of 10 East Region members to the Swim England Members Forum. Membership of the Swim England Members Forum is proportionate to the Swim England Membership for each region, as at the end of the previous calendar year.

Recently, Swim England has advised that, based on our membership numbers as at 31<sup>st</sup> December 2020, the number of Swim England East Region Members will reduce from 10 to 9. Co-incidentally, we have had one resignation from our representatives on the Swim England Members Forum. The SCM therefore asked to note that the remaining 9 members, listed below, will continue as the Swim England East Region Members Forum Members until April 2022:

Ian Knight (Wisbech SC), Ian Mackenzie (Hoddesdon SC), Sheila Mackenzie (Hoddesdon SC), David Metcalf (Biggleswade SC), Geraldine Metcalf (Biggleswade SC), Stewart Murray (West Norfolk SC), David Robinson (Mildenhall and District SC), Chris Vinter (Team Ipswich SC) and Joan Wheeler (Modernian SC)

Joan Wheeler Chairman 1<sup>st</sup> April 2021